Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

Chimney effect and flat roof framed in June 16, 2008

Filed under: Design — budint @ 2:23 am
Tags: ,

Framing has been moving along slowly , but here are some great progress pics.

1. The first is a pic of the of high set of windows which are at the tallest point of the structure. These windows will be operational and allow us to generate a chimney effect by releasing the hot air at the highest point and pulling in the cooler air thru the lower windows.  This type of design has been around since before the Ottoman Empire and is highlighted in that book I covered 8 months ago, Architecture without Architects.

Secondly, is a picture of the flat section of our roof. We designed this area to hold the future solar panels. It will be accessible via a built-in side ladder and should allow me to adjust the panels per season and clean them.

 

4 Responses to “Chimney effect and flat roof framed in”

  1. hi there. i came across your blog from pets in the city. it’s always good to find other like-minded folks in the ‘lou. best of luck in your rehab efforts!
    -becca

  2. Michael Says:

    House looks great Todd!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I strongly disagree! I still am stunned this was going on these days. I was happy in the fact I was not running. The Directors help answer what will happen now?! I will keep track of the change .

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I agree! cannot believe that this was happening these days. I am very happy I am not jogging. We would love to help answer about the future. I will want to know this new development to this.


Leave a Reply

