Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

Reusing clay roof tiles can be back-breaking work February 18, 2008

Filed under: Reuse,St Louis — budint @ 1:14 am

 I’m holding my breath while I say this, but…………….the project has restarted. This past week the carpenters moved in and started demolition work in preparation for the steel erectors.  (btw, I’ve been told that the majority of steel in these types of projects  is 100% recycled) They took the roof apart and demo’d out the rear brick wall.  Since the place won’t be under roof for weeks, a big tarp has been draped over the opening.

Roof deconstruction

I had requested that we save the roof tiles and as many bricks as possible. This probably seems obvious to most readers, but it’s definitely not the easiest nor the cheapest approach for contractors.  We more easily could’ve just thrown them in the dumpster and not have had to worry about them EVER again. However, I’m REALLY hoping that I can find a new home for these 700-800 French style roof tiles.   Whether this means selling, donating or reusing I’m not sure.

The removal of the roof and the tiles produced two huge stacks like the ones below.  The carpenters put them in the front part of the house, but i needed to get them moved so that they could work throughout the house.  So on Saturday, I started moving 1 of the 2 piles downstairs.  I have to say, i underestimated how much effort this would be. In the end, I moved 230 tiles in that couples hours (5lbs/each x 230 = 1150lbs).  Tomorrow I’ll go back for the other half.

Tiles off the roof

If I don’t find a reuse for these things, I’m going to be really frustrated or at the very least my back will really hate me.

Moved tiles

I’ll likely post to my neighborhood discussion board (Tower Grove South), post to the Rehabber’s club site and post to Craig’s List.  If anyone knows of any other places which might be interested in buying or taking these off my hands, I’d be happy to hear.

The tile is a French style Mound City product 15″ x 7″.  After I move this 2nd pile, i still have about 400 more tiles to go when they remove the remaining part of the roof.  Did I mention, I’m trying to reclaim the bricks as well?  This is rough work I tell ya!!!

Single French Style Mound City Tile

 

23 Responses to “Reusing clay roof tiles can be back-breaking work”

  1. greenrecycler Says:

    Have you heard of freecycle.org? I think there is a branch in S. Louis, MO, but I’m not sure if that’s where you are. Check here: http://www.freecycle.org/group/United%20States/Missouri/St.%20Louis%20Metro
    You can post what you have to give away and someone who’s interested in it will come and pick it up. It’s all free – you don’t make money but the main thing is to get perfectly good materials reused. Good luck!

  2. Matt Says:

    If you have tile to sell I buy it. or if you need more I sell it too. Just call me at 800-666-7445 ext 13.

  3. Ken Says:

    I saw the tiles that you removed from your roof. I am interested in replacing the roof on my front porch in south St. Louis that uses tiles like the ones that you pictured. I realize that it is months since you posted this, but do you still have the tiles or did Matt pick them up? I can most easily be reached by email at the above address.

    Ken

  4. Horst Britsche Says:

    I have an unfinished part of my house because i am out of tiles.
    When I started Ididn’t know it was that difficult to find them.
    Please let me know if the tiles are still available, how many and where.
    Need them in Houston.
    Thanks,
    Horst

  5. Randy Says:

    We need to roof the front porch of our 102 year old home in Kansas City. The main roof is the original French-style clay tiles, just like these. Are these tiles still available?

  6. Mark Hibbeler Says:

    I have a customer who needs these exact tiles. Please call me. 314-280-4067

  7. steve gardner Says:

    I am doing a roof repair on my 1913 craftsman and I need a number of replacement tiles. Let me know if these are still available. Thanks.

  8. johnfitzgerald Says:

    hi my name is john i,am building my porch and need some of these tiles and would be happy to buy them off you let me know if you got any left thank you

  9. Beth Says:

    Hi, I am also looking for these tiles for two projects, my roof and a neighbors. We live in the city and are hoping to keep our old roofs in good repair. Please let me know if you have any you would like to sell. Thank you.

  10. Alison Says:

    I definitely need some tiles. (same kind)

    Please let me know if you have some left.

  11. ladyroof Says:

    Live Green St Louis is an excellent website!

    I like be green but I want to use only new clay roof tiles…
    Somebody know where I can find a distributor of Santafe Clay Roof Tiles in Texas ?? I want re-roof with green tiles.
    Thanks

  12. Sue Says:

    I need about 12-20 of these. Do you have any left?

  13. alison Says:

    If you have any left, I am definitely interested. Please let me know.

  14. Dan Says:

    In need of 100 of this style . Do you know the color or if they are the ones that are lighter on the back ? Thanks Dan

  15. Roofing Software For Roofers it gives me good info. Thanks for sharing I have just created %URL% Check It OUT Free Gift.

  16. Abebe Says:

    1bfIf perhaps youe28099re heoevwr undecided: find the preferred headsets, head due to a real Best to buy and enquire to be able to put these items as a Microsoft zune therefore a music player and discover which colour noises much better to that you, in addition to which program enables you to be satisfaction a great deal more. Well then youe28099ll discover that is certainly best for your family.

  17. Sofia Telfer Says:

    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank youPinellas Park Roofing, 9753 66th St., #206, Pinellas Park, FL 33782 – (727) 755-0026

  18. Anonymous Says:

    I totally agree! I still am amazed that this happened these days. I was glad I am not running. I would love to are coming to terms for the future. I will want to know this evolving issue in the future.

  19. Anonymous Says:

    I agree! I still am stunned this keeps happening again and again in modern day times. This news was well received as I am not running. We would love to have pondered for the future. Anyway I will keep track of this situation to this.

  20. Anonymous Says:

    I really disagree! I am amazed that this really did happen in todays world. I was happy in the fact I was sat down. The Boss’ are coming to terms about things in future I need to keep an eye on what happens .

  21. Veryy good info. Lucky me I found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

  22. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on
    your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it
    yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a great blog like this one these days.


Leave a Reply

