Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

Got time, why not check out green certification? January 4, 2008

Filed under: Green Rehab,Live Green 2.0 — budint @ 4:05 am
Tags: , ,

In trying to kill some more time I decided to see what level of green certification my residential project would meet. I glanced at LEED residential and read a bit about what others said. That was enough to scare me and have me look elsewhere for a cheaper and easier certification framework. I found the National Association of Home Builders Green Building Initiative. It looks comprehensive enough for my project and plenty of folks belong to the NAHB that I thought it’d be a good place to start. Though it’s easier and cheaper than LEED-H, the guidelines are still comprehensive enough that
if all new homebuilding followed these, we’d be in a hugely better place in this country.

Don’t let the156 page guidelines discourage you from trying to build your home around a certification plan such as this. Much of the content provides great ideas and concepts which could be used in a home whether it’s going for green certification or not.

In my excess time I went through the Green Building Initiative’s checklist from the Sage site to see how close my project would be to any sort of certification and here’s what I came up with:

Anticipated Status          
Section:   Bronze Silver Gold
1 Lot Design, Preparation, and Development   Will Meet Will Meet Will Meet
2 Resource Efficiency   Will Meet Will Meet Will Not Meet
3 Energy Efficiency   Will Not Meet Will Not Meet Will Not Meet
4 Water Efficiency   Will Meet Will Meet Will Meet
5 Indoor Environmental Quality   Will Meet Will Meet Will Not Meet
6 Operation, Maintenance, and Homeowner Education   Will Meet Will Meet Will Meet
7 Global Impact   Will Meet Will Meet Will Meet
  Additional points from sections of your choice   Will Not Meet Will Not Meet Will Not Meet
      Will Not Attain Will Not Attain Will Not Attain

At quick glance it looks like I should be able to bronze or silver certification. But that’s only if I can figure out the Energy Efficiency section which is complicated and needs to be calculated by someone more knowledgeable than me. When the time comes, I’ll likely ask my builder some of these questions and see what we can’t do about documenting the aspects which make this project bronze or silver certified.

 

One Response to “Got time, why not check out green certification?”

  1. […] the NAHB Green Building program and also the Energy Star Home certification. The NAHB is the one we looked into back in January and felt was pretty reasonable for what we needed.  The Energy Star component is the foundation of […]


Leave a Reply

