Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

Recycling scrap metal, a RICH experience in so many ways December 29, 2007

Filed under: General Green 2.0,Green Rehab,Live Green 2.0,Reuse — budint @ 6:38 pm
Tags: , ,

 In order to keep myself motivated about the house project I’ve been spreading out my tasks. Yesterday I took the copper plumbing we removed to the ‘cash for scrap’ place. The reason we’re removing the copper is because the plumbing is basically being completely redone and we’re doing it w/ PEX.  PEX is a superior alternative to copper because the installation costs are slightly lower (depending on your plumbers Union) and water is delivered more quickly when called by the faucet meaning that there is less time waiting for hot water.  PEX is also expected to last from 50-100yrs vs. those copper welds which always seem to have a problem at some point in their life.

Anyhow, back to the scrap metal experience.  I knew i wouldn’t get much money and my motivation was more about getting the copper out of my house and ensuring that it was being re-used.  I went to the first ‘cash for scrap’ shop in the phone book “Cash’s”.  I never knew that such a place existed.  I was people pulling up w/ dishwashers, refrigerators, copper guttering, a huge brass goose and another other item that contained metal.  Some folks were clearly not the rightful owner’s of what they were selling, but “Cash’s” didn’t seem to care.

The eye opener for me is that nearly anything that has to do w/ metal can be recycled by these types of places and if you’re lucky you may even get some money.  At the very least you’ll get a rich cultural experience.  I wish I had known about this place 6 months ago, there’s lots I could’ve taken.

Cash’s Cash for Scrap

 

One Response to “Recycling scrap metal, a RICH experience in so many ways”

  1. stevencarvac Says:

    white green jhon kitchen home england deliver white


Leave a Reply

