Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

Green roofs aren’t impossible. Who knew? December 9, 2007

Filed under: Exterior,General Green 2.0,Landscaping,Live Green 2.0 — budint @ 10:43 pm
Tags: ,

I didn’t know.

Not until a couple weeks ago when I started doing some research and uncovered so much information that I felt like I just learned about TIVO. And I don’t believe that I’m the only one; who really knows someone with a green roof or has even seen a green roof installation? If you live in St. Louis or nearly anywhere in the U.S. then the chances are nil.

Couple facts and benefits:

  • 12% of the roofs in Germany are Green Roofs. (That’s Amazing)
  • Green Roofs can be designed with no/low maintenance plants or with nice, higher maintenance vegetation.
  • Green Roofs can be installed on slopes. (Pure Genius)
  • Green Roofs cost btwn $10-15 per sq foot. (Cheaper than I thought)
  • The City Government of Chicago has a Green Roofing and rooftop garden program
  • Green Roofs protect the sun from beating down on the roof in the summer and provide insulation in the winter.
  • Green Roofs help to control storm run-off and protect city storm sewers from becoming overwhelmed.
  • Green Roofs help roofs last 2-3 times longer.
  • Green Roofs provide a space for wild life (mainly birds)
  • Green Roofs look better than black tar roofs. (Unless you’re a black tar roofer I suppose)
  • Green Roofs help reduce carbon dioxide.

Now if you’re as amazed as I am, then continue reading.

There are lots of manufacturers in the green roof industry. Some provide the materials needed for integrating the green roof right into your roof just like what you’d think. Other provide a more plug and play system which basically allows you to set deep trays of vegetation just an inch above your existing roof. Each application has benefits/drawbacks and should be considered per situation. The #1 factor to think about is the strength of the existing roof.

Don’t think this is the end of my green roof ambitions. I’ll do a project at some point. In the meantime, check out these additional resources:

1. The city of Chicago is an AWESOME resource. Tons of down loadable guides and useful resources at the bottom of the page.

2. The Live Roof system is a plug n play system similar to Green Blocks.

3. 3 page decent overview of Green Roofs.

4. Michigan State is doing some research on green roofs

Now that I’ve uncovered this new world, I’ll share more info if I find it.

 

8 Responses to “Green roofs aren’t impossible. Who knew?”

  1. Mariah Says:

    Hey Todd,

    It was great to see you (and Riley) this week. I hope you’re able to bring her to visit next time you’re in town for work… and it would be nice to visit with Jen as well!

    On another note, I found this post really interesting. I’ve heard a lot about green roofs and living buildings recently in Canada. Here’s another interesting idea that’s similar – a living wall that’s inside a building. Here’s a site I thought you might want to check out. http://livebuilding.queensu.ca/green_features/biowall I got a chance to see it last year when I was visiting my friend at Queen’s, where she goes to school. Not only is it green, but it’s pretty too!

    Mariah

    • Ajeet Says:

      01 Jul 22, 2012 2:45 am Wow I got an email from you to check out your videos. I thuohgt it was some sort of scam at first, but, surprisingly, the video in the email link described something about time management , which I severely lack right now. After watching this video, I feel like I should cherish my time instead of dreading the boredom. I should add more gold to my hours instead of just passing through time in an empty train. ThankS!

  2. Seth Teel Says:

    There is a national fabricator and distributor of green roof systems here in St. Louis. Green Roof Blocks is a division of St. Louis Metal Works. http://www.greenroofblocks.com/

    They are ideal for flat roofs common to this area.

  3. Sempergreen just entered the US Market with a great green roof system. It works pretty much the same as sod but instead of grass we use 10 varieties of Sedum.
    It is a roll of 25 sq ft of sedum carpet you roll out on your roof. (additional components are required like 3″ of soil underneath)
    There is an instant green roof aspect to it as the sedum carpet is at least 85% covered so from day 1 you have a green roof without all the maintenance of growing plugs on your roof. Again, it’s just like rolling out sod in your backyard….
    It’s surprisingly affordable and by far the most used green roof system in the current European market.
    Please call me at (301) 219 4071 for more info.

    Dick Bernauer
    Sempergreen USA

  4. Green roofs are definitely the way of the future. Congratulations on your fantastic project I only wish I had fouynd your blog earlier and cwatched it in real time.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    I really disagree! I am amazed that this really did happen in todays world. I was happy in the fact I was sat down. The Boss’ are coming to terms about things in future I need to keep an eye on what happens .

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I agree! cannot believe that this was happening these days. I am very happy I am not jogging. We would love to help answer about the future. I will want to know this new development to this.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I strongly disagree! I still am stunned this was going on these days. I was happy in the fact I was not running. The Directors help answer what will happen now?! I will keep track of the change .


Leave a Reply

