Attempting to Live a Sustainable Lifestyle in St. Louis

Environmentally friendly decisions are tough

I like Reduce/Recycle/Reuse; but reusing isn’t always easy September 5, 2007

Filed under: Flooring,Green Rehab,Reuse — budint @ 2:49 am

 In preparation for the real construction crew to come in, I’ve been doing some pre-work. One such task has been the reclaiming of 2x4s and wood flooring.  I know in a previous post I said it was too much work to reclaim the 2x4s, but now that costs are adding up, I’m looking for every dime.

The process of getting the 2x4s back was a combination of unscrewing, nail pulling and just sawing the nails off.  Not the funnest thing I’ve done, but we did reclaim 23 2x4s (I’ll attach a pic soon).

We’re also keeping the original trim and reclaiming some of the wood floor to be used elsewhere in the house.  See photos Img_17, 18, 19 and 20 to the right at the flickr account.

I’m telling you, yanking these nails out of woodwork is no easy task. Some pieces have 3-4 nails each. Yuck!!! Guess it keeps this stuff out of the landfill though. And keeps from having to produce new trim.

The even more ambitious plan I have is to reclaim the wood slats from the roof when they remove it.  They really appear in good shape, so hoping we can use them somewhere on this job.

Finally, you’ll see some stacks of the ceramic roofing tiles. I just plan to sell those. Hope I get my money’s worth.

 

3 Responses to “I like Reduce/Recycle/Reuse; but reusing isn’t always easy”

  1. this is something i am looking for …. i feel , this will work!

  2. Marie Says:

    What are you doing with the hardwood floors you took out?

    We are taking out old hardwood and getting new- what is the best thing to do with the old?

    Do you know a good flooring man that can fix old hardwood floors?

  3. Kukoy Says:

    here: Laminate Wood Flooring and the Benefits over Traditional Wood Posted in: Wood Laminate Flooring Tags: archives, bftneies, ceramic-tile, house,


Leave a Reply

